4 – 15

white-flowered shrub, thorns
sharp and black yet scented with
Heaven’s breeze; so pure.
© Freya Pickard 2013
7 Responses to 4 – 15

  1. eikenlaan says:

    I think the Blackthorn and Hawthorn are maybe the same. I wrote a haiku a while back about it….

    hawthorn blossoms
    lace the hedgerows
    pearl moon

    Maire x

    • purehaiku says:

      lovely haiku! I thought blackthorn flowers in March before the leaf appears while hawthorn flowers in May (May blossom) after its leaf has appeared…?

      • Eikenlaan says:

        purehaiku you are right, I have looked it up on google, they are different but the blossoms look very similar. Blackthorn is March and Hawthorn is May. Maire

  2. eikenlaan says:

    Love this Freya, the hedgerows are dotted all around our countryside with hawthorn blossoms and they are so sweetly scented but the thorns are strong. Nobody ever brings it into the house, it is considered very bad luck but I have often been tempted to cut some and put it into a long vase. Maire

    • purehaiku says:

      I’ve not yet seen any hawthorn Maire – we’re so behind here in England the blackthorn is only just blooming! I haven’t been able to find out the name of the sweetly scented bloom yet….

      • Libby says:

        No hawthorn here either or blackthorn yet – but I have a VERY thorny shrub in my garden, name unknown as it was here when we moved in, which savages me every time I prune it.

  3. Libby says:

    Beautiful – but painful to prune!

thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to share it, re-blog it, like or leave a comment ...

