11 – 4

silhouette against
pale grey sky, owl swoops, wings spread,
vanishes, fierce cry
© Freya Pickard 2013
9 Responses to 11 – 4

  1. jrosenberry1 says:

    This is a wonderful poem; truly captures the essence of the owl. 🙂

  2. julespaige says:

    I had thought I was seeing hawk around here, but we also have vultures. I know we have owls…but I only ever saw one.

    All critter have to eat 🙂

    I’ve been a tad distracted – I appreciate your visits!!

  3. Libby says:

    I love owls and I can see this one here.

    • purehaiku says:

      I think it’s a barn owl – we have 2 in the copse behind us – but when it’s a silhouette that appears for a moment and is then gone, it’s hard to tell what kind it is!

      • Libby says:

        Pale grey, ghostly silhoutte – has to be a barn owl. We see them here often too, along with buzzards, kestrel and other hawkes. Where my daughter lives they see Kites.

thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to share it, re-blog it, like or leave a comment ...

