music echoes in my mind…

Why Music? Well, I’ve been going through chemotherapy for the last few months and one of the things I do to survive it, is listen to music. So, to try and inject some fun into my otherwise grey, suspended, limbo-like form of existence, I wrote haiku about the music I enjoy. In February I invited my readers to send in their haiku on the theme of Music.
A huge thank you to everyone who took the time to send in their haiku submissions. I had a wonderful time reading them all and choosing my guest haiku writers for the next few weeks.
It’s a shame that I had to reject quite a number because the haiku either didn’t reflect the 5-7-5 syllabic lines or they were just not based on the advertised theme.
The quality of haiku I received was exceedingly high and it was very difficult to choose which ones to use. If your haiku weren’t accepted this time, please try again in the future. Check out the Submit Page in May for the new theme and deadline. For now, please enjoy some “musical” haiku!
© Freya Pickard 2015
10 Responses to music echoes in my mind…

  1. It’s wonderful to read that music is helping you through a difficult time. BIG hugs!

  2. dilip says:

    Yes listening music is an accepted as therapeutic. Many good wishes to you for a speedy recovery.

  3. Jane says:

    Sending you hugs and best wishes. So sorry you’ve been going through this difficult time. I watched a family member go through chemo on and off for many years. I must write some haiku again. I really appreciate this simple but beautiful form of poetry that often conveys such profound thoughts and images. It takes skill though and given I am prone to verbosity, it may be a challenge for me. A lovely challenge though. Thank you.

  4. Libby says:

    Music is a great healer.

  5. kanzensakura says:

    I am so glad music has helped you through this time and that feeling as you have, you provided a prompt and then took the time to read and choose. I hope things continue to look up for you and that you get to feeling better soon. It is a hard road to walk down and I look back on my time and wonder how in the world I kept it up. I realize that along the way was much kindness and prayers sent up for me. I continue to do the same for you.

thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to share it, re-blog it, like or leave a comment ...

