where that silent river flows…

Why Death? In 2014 I lost two close writing friends and faced death myself in the form of cancer. I wrote a lot of poetry about death after both sets of surgery and before I went through chemo. Writing about it helped me face what I had been through. I’m not saying I’m totally “over it” – I don’t think I ever will be. But writing about it helps me come to terms with what I’ve been through. In May I invited my readers to send in their haiku on the theme of Death, mentioning that it needn’t necessarily be morbid.
I want to say thank you to everyone who took the time to send in their haiku submissions. It was really beautiful for me to read such a variety of haiku about Death. Some made me sad, others made me laugh (see F Franklin’s haiku next month) and others took my breath away with their sheer beauty.
The quality of haiku I received, as always, was exceedingly high and once again it was difficult to choose a Featured Haiku Writer for the end of July. If your haiku don’t get accepted it is always worth trying again in the future. Check out the Submit Page in August for the new theme and deadline. And now we begin our journey to explore Death and what it really means…
© Freya Pickard 2015
2 Responses to where that silent river flows…

  1. death is omnipresent in our mortal world!

thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to share it, re-blog it, like or leave a comment ...

