about pure haiku

Welcome to Pure Haiku! I am Freya Pickard the author of Dragonscale Leggings. My other blog can be found at Dragonscale Clippings

I am English and I enjoy writing haiku in my native language based on the classical Japanese 5-7-5 syllabic structure.

I set up this blog in order to promote this form of haiku. I have no problem with modern haiku but object strongly to having my haiku rejected purely because they are “classical”. More recently, I’ve been told that “most people don’t write traditional haiku any more.” I found this interesting, as in April 2016 I had 1,848 people following this blog.

All the haiku published on this site are structured classically with 5-7-5 syllables per line. Please take this into account if you wish to Submit your own haiku and feature as a guest writer. I am aware that my haiku cannot be truly classical because I do not write in the old style of Japanese. Yet, this is how I was taught to write them many years ago and I find haiku such as these very pleasing to read. Yes, it is difficult to create a classical haiku in English, but isn’t that what writing is all about? Isn’t that how we hone our craft, by attempting the difficult?

Featured Haiku Writers
Three times a year I feature haiku by one guest writer. This is by invitation only. The best way to receive an invitation is to submit 4-5 haiku on the current theme whenever Pure Haiku is OPEN to submissions.

Please note – the plural of haiku is haiku

You can also follow me at Facebook and Twitter and Google+.

2 Responses to about pure haiku

  1. Frank says:

    I love the challenge of 5-7-5, but I can see both sides of the coin.

    Many people adhere to the 5-7-5 without really thinking about the way the rhythm and structure work together. Many add extra (redundant or excessive) words to meet the syllable count. Many ignore the subtleties of juxtaposition, etc., that ‘true haiku’ should have.

    I’m certainly guilty of the last of these.

    ‘True haiku’, on the other hand, is all about subtlety, simplicity, ambiguity, elegance,… and once you get used to it the 5-7-5 often looks very clunky.

    The problem for me is that by embracing subtlety and ambiguity you end up with poetry that’s obscure, and often inaccessible. Some of my recent haiku have left me thinking simultaneously, ‘Wow, flash of genius!’ and, ‘How inexpressibly dull…’

    I think both forms have their purpose. There’s such pleasure in crafting the 5-7-5, but there is so much that can be learned by searching for even briefer expression of ideas.

  2. your haikus are priceless gems!

thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to share it, re-blog it, like or leave a comment ...

