snowmelt

snowmelt refrozen
transparent scales of ice; the
lacework of winter
haiku © Freya Pickard 2016
This haiku is one of many included in my fantasy novel series, Isu Magan.
You can read more haiku, like this one in Book One Vintrig’s Kingdom which is available NOW!
You may also like to watch the videos I created for this release at Vintrig’s Kingdom and Freya Reads an Extract.
Please share and re-blog this post!

9 Responses to snowmelt

  1. Olga says:

    Hi Freya. Loved the wintry feel of your haiku, but I have a question. It’s very odd to me that “the” is hanging at the end of the second line. Is this following the traditional haiku form other than adding a seventh syllable? I’m just learning and wondering. 🙂

    • purehaiku says:

      Hi Olga! Thank you for reading my haiku! It is true that the “the” is untidy. But this is a haiku I wrote years before I perfected the art (nowadays I like to get all 3 lines as individual lines). Even back then I wrote traditional haiku so the 5-7-5 syllable count was observed. A lot of the haiku in my novel “Vintrig’s Kingdom” are “old” ones but they have a nice feel and flow to them, even though they’re not as precise as I would write them nowadays. I liked the feel of them and felt they went well with the story I was telling, so did not rewrite any of them. What do you think of the others in the novel?

  2. memadtwo says:

    Reblogged this on method two madness and commented:
    A beautiful haiku in anticipation of winter. Freya makes use of many channels to nurture this poetic form.
    You can see my haiku contribution to the fall “leaf” series here: https://purehaiku.wordpress.com/2016/10/21/9-21-2/

  3. The lacework of winter. You are brilliant Jules

  4. Christy B says:

    Congratulations on the new book! Wow, you are publishing a lot ~ Great reads ahead, woohoo!

thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to share it, re-blog it, like or leave a comment ...

