1 – 6

Solicitude comes
bearing gifts of soup and wine
scents of comfort merge
© Merril D Smith 2017
Apparently Merril writes history and poetry and dances in the kitchen with her cats whilst blogging at Merril D Smith
A beautiful, olfactory haiku. I’m sorry, but I couldn’t help but choose today’s date, given Merril’s phrase “bearing gifts”!
This haiku is part of my CARE series.
9 Responses to 1 – 6

  1. Susan Scott says:

    lovely – I don’t get the significance of dates though?

    • purehaiku says:

      6th January is Ephinany, the celebration of the wise men bringing gifts to the baby Jesus. As Merril used the phrase “bearing gifts” I decided to link the haiku with the Christian Calendar!

  2. goldenbrodie says:

    So glad you found me. Your poems are moving. Golden Brodie and I will follow you and look for your words.

  3. merrildsmith says:

    Reblogged this on Yesterday and today: Merril's historical musings and commented:
    Freya Pickard of Pure Haiku as selected one of my haiku for her Care series.

  4. merrildsmith says:

    Thanks so much, Freya!
    I wouldn’t have thought of the date and it’s association. 🙂

  5. memadtwo says:

    I can picture Merril gathered with family and friends…(K)

thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to share it, re-blog it, like or leave a comment ...

