10-14

red leaf slowly drifts
companion mirrored below
wave takes both away
© Ken Gierke 2016
Since he never knows where his next poem will come from, each new poem he writes is a surprise to him. Read more of Ken’s work at Rivrvlogr.
I loved the imagery of the mirrored leaf and the continual motion throughout the haiku.
This haiku is part of my LEAF series.
11 Responses to 10-14

  1. […] On October 14th, Pure Haiku selected one of five haiku I had submitted for the theme “Leaf.” All five poems are shown below. The third haiku is the one that appeared at Pure Haiku. […]

  2. rivrvlogr says:

    Thank you for selecting this, Freya.

  3. rivrvlogr says:

    Reblogged this on rivrvlogr and commented:
    The theme for Freya’s current series at Pure Haiku is LEAF, and my haiku was chosen for today.

  4. merrildsmith says:

    I love the imagery, too. It’s wistful, but there’s that sense of movement.

    • purehaiku says:

      glad you liked it too, Merril! it was both the sadness and sense of movement that made it stand out to me…

      • rivrvlogr says:

        The observation of sadness isn’t something I’d thought about. The leaf on the water was so bright and crisp in its reflection that it still seemed alive as it drifted. But when I think back on it, as I paused my paddling to watch it pass my kayak, it receded behind me and seemed to fade to nothing. I see a sadness in bare trees, but the bright color of leaves as they fall seems so festive. This casts it in a different light, doesn’t it?

      • purehaiku says:

        that’s what I like about poetry – the reader can see layers in it that the poet wasn’t necessarily intending to include…

thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to share it, re-blog it, like or leave a comment ...

